THE KILLING MOON and its sequel, THE SHADOWED SUN, will be published in consecutive months in May and June 2012.

Book One: The Killing Moon
| 9780316187282

Read chapter 1 | Read chapter 2 | Read chapter 3

In the desert city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Along its ancient stone streets, there is no crime or violence. Priests of the dream-goddess, known as Gatherers, maintain order: harvesting the dreams of the citizens, healing the injured, and guiding the dreamers into the afterlife… whether they’re ready to die or not.

When Ehiru — the most famous of the city’s Gatherers — is sent to harvest the dreams of a diplomatic envoy, he finds himself drawn into a conspiracy that threatens to drag the dreaming city into war.

So begins a hugely ambitious tale of culture and empire, war and religion…and the realm of dreams.

Book Two: The Shadowed Sun
Orbit | ISBN: 9780316187299

Gujaareh, the city of dreams, suffers under the imperial rule of the Kisuati Protectorate. A city where the only law was peace now knows violence and oppression. And nightmares: a mysterious and deadly plague haunts the citizens of Gujaareh, dooming the infected to die screaming in their sleep. Trapped between dark dreams and cruel overlords, the people yearn to rise up — but Gujaareh has known peace for too long.

Someone must show them the way.

Hope lies with two outcasts: the first woman ever allowed to join the dream goddess’ priesthood, and an exiled prince who longs to reclaim his birthright. Together, they must resist the Kisuati occupation and uncover the source of the killing dreams… before Gujaareh is lost forever.

Read Chapter 1

Praise for the Dreamblood

“The Narcomancer”, a novelette published in 2007, set in Gujaareh’s distant past. Unrelated to the novels, just in the same universe. Also in audio from Podcastle!

Scroll to Top